Jun 08, 2023  
2007-2009 Graduate Catalog 
2007-2009 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Winston-Salem State University


Board of Trustees

Mr. Nigel D. Alston, Chair Winston-Salem, NC
Mrs. Loretta C. Biggs, Vice Chair Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. F. Scott Bauer, Secretary Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Joseph S. Amado Richmond, VA
Mrs. Brooke Burr Winston-Salem, NC
Mrs. Lisa J. Caldwell Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Martin Davis Charlotte, NC
Dr. James C. Hash, Sr Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Thomas W. Lambeth Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Kevin A. Myatt Nashville, TN
Mrs. Gloria Ross Reese Atlanta, GA
Mr. Keith W. Vaughn Winston-Salem, NC
Mr. Robert T. Stephens, President, Student Government Assoc., ex officio Winston-Salem, NC

Officers of Administration

Donald J. Reaves, Ph.D. Chancellor
Pedro L. Martinez, Ph.D. Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Daarel E. Burnette, M.B.A. (Interim) Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration
Melody C. Pierce, Ph.D. Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Enrollment Services
Terrence S. Hines, J.D. (Interim) Vice Chancellor for Advancement

Academic Affairs

Pedro L. Martinez, Ph.D. Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Merdis J. McCarter, Ed.D. Sr. Associate Provost for Academic Affairs/Undergraduate Programs
Glen A. Holmes, Ph.D. Associate Provost for Information Resources/CIO
Carolynn B. Berry, Ph.D. Assistant Provost for Institutional Planning, Assessment, and Research
Randy W. Mills, Ph.D. Assistant Provost for Administration and Planning
Irene Chief, M.S. Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Lifelong Learning


Charles W. Ford, Jr., Ph.D. College of Arts and Sciences
Jessica Bailey, Ph.D. School of Business and Economics
Cynthia Jackson Hammond, Ed.D. School of Education and Human Performance
Peggy Valentine, Ed.D. School of Health Sciences
James G. Wingate, Ph.D. (Interim) University College
Carolynn Berry, Ph.D. (Interim) School of Graduate Studies and Research

History of The University of North Carolina

In North Carolina, all the public educational institutions that grant baccalaureate degrees are part of The University of North Carolina. Winston-Salem State University is one of the 16 constituent institutions of the multi-campus state university.

The University of North Carolina, chartered by the N.C. General Assembly in 1789, was the first public university in the United States to open its doors and the only one to graduate students in the eighteenth century. The first class was admitted in Chapel Hill in 1795. For the next 136 years, the only campus of The University of North Carolina was at Chapel Hill.

In 1877, the N.C. General Assembly began sponsoring additional institutions of higher education, diverse in origin and purpose. Five were historically black institutions, and another was founded to educate American Indians. Several were created to prepare teachers for the public schools. Others had a technological emphasis. One was a training school for performing artists.

In 1931, the N.C. General Assembly redefined The University of North Carolina to include three statesupported institutions: the campus at Chapel Hill (now the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), North Carolina State College (now North Carolina State University at Raleigh), and Woman’s College (now the University of North Carolina at Greensboro). The new multi-campus university operated with one board of trustees and one president. By 1969, three additional campuses had joined The University through legislative action: the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, the University of North Carolina at Asheville, and the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

In 1971, the General Assembly passed legislation bringing into The University of North Carolina the state’s ten remaining public senior institutions, each of which had until then been legally separate: Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, North Carolina Central University, the North Carolina School of the Arts, Pembroke State University, Western Carolina University, and Winston-Salem State University. This action created the current 16-campus University. (In 1985, the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, a residential high school for gifted students, was declared an affiliated school of the university; and in 1996 Pembroke State University was renamed the University of North Carolina at Pembroke through legislative action.)

The UNC Board of Governors is the policy-making body legally charged with “the general determination, control, supervision, management, and governance of all affairs of the constituent institutions.” It elects the president, who administers The University. The 32 voting members of the Board of Governors are elected by the General Assembly for four-year terms. Former board chairmen and board members who are former governors of North Carolina may continue to serve for limited periods as non-voting members emeriti. The president of the UNC Association of Student Governments, or that student’s designee, is also a non-voting member.


Each of the 16 constituent institutions is headed by a chancellor, who is chosen by the Board of Governors on the president’s nomination and is responsible to the president. Each institution has a board of trustees, consisting of eight members elected by the Board of Governors, four appointed by the governor, and the president of the student body, who serves ex officio. (The N.C. School of the Arts has two additional ex officio members.) Each board of trustees holds extensive powers over academic and other operations of its institution on delegation from the Board of Governors.

Officers of Administration  

Erskine Bowles, M.B.A. President
Harold Martin, Sr., Ph.D. Senior Vice President — Academic Affairs
Jeffrey R. Davies, M.B.A. Chief of Staff
Robert O. Nelson, M.P.A. Vice President — Finance
L.B. Corgnati, Jr., B.S., M.S. Secretary of the University
Russ Lea, Ph.D. Vice President — Research and Director of Sponsored Programs
Alan R. Mabe, Ph.D. Vice President for Academic Planning
Leslie Winner, J.D. Vice President and General Counsel — Human Resources
Robyn Render, B.S. Vice President — Information Resources and CIO
Andrew Willis, M.P.A. Vice President for Governmental Relations
Kimrey Rhinehardt, B.S. Vice President for Federal Relations

Terms of Office of the Board of Governors

Class of 2007   Class of 2009
Jim W. Phillips, Jr., Chair G. Leroy Lail Bradley T. Adcock
J. Craig Souza, Vice Chairman Ronald Leatherwood Peaches Gunter Blank
Estelle ‘Bunny’ Sanders, Secretary Charles H. Mercer, Jr. Phillip R. Dixon
Bradley T. Adcock Fred G. Mills Ray S. Farris
Brent D. Barringer Marshall B. Pitts, Jr. Dudley E. Flood
Peaches Gunter Blank Gladys Ashe Robinson Hannah D. Gage
R. Steve Bowden Irvin A. Roseman Willie J. Gilchrist
Laura W. Buffaloe William G. Smith H. Frank Grainger
Frank A. Daniels, Jr. Purnell Swett Charles H. Mercer, Jr.
John W. Davis, III Priscilla P. Taylor Fred G. Mills
Phillip R. Dixon J. Bradley Wilson Jim W. Phillips
Ray S. Farris David W. Young Irvin A. Roseman
Dudley E. Flood    
Hannah D. Gage James E. Holshouser, Jr.  
Ann B. Goodnight Emeritus Member  
Clarice Cato Goodyear    
H. Frank Grainger M. Cole Jones  
Peter Hans Ex. Officio Member  
Charles Hayes    
Adelaide Daniels Key